The Klein Karoo National Arts Festival (KKNK) is a family event that attracts visitors from across South Africa and across the world. The festival programme that encompasses all genres of the performing and visual arts, as well as the rich cultural history of Oudtshoorn, the beautiful scenery of the region and the renowned hospitality of the town keeps festivalgoers coming back for more year after year.

Through the annual festival and other projects, the KKNK wants to make a constructive contribution to nation building by being a credible and honest player in the arts. The company accomplishes this through sustainable platforms, innovation, building and maintaining networks, and contributing to economic and social development, as well as providing opportunities for the transferring of skills, through the arts.

The KKNK also presents Klein Karoo Klassique (a classical music festival) now in its 12th year, and the award-winning Teksmark (a platform for the development of scripts and playwrights). It produces various productions in the performing arts and strives towards establishing the Klein Karoo Arts Academy (a community development and training academy in all forms of the arts).

An independent survey conducted in 2018 by Prof Jen Snowball from the Department of Economics at the Rhodes University, emphasises the economic importance of the KKNK:

The economic impact of the KKNK on the Oudtshoorn Municipality totals R56,4 million;

The economic impact of the KKNK on the Western Cape is estimated at between R161,3 million and R178,2 million.

Vision

To be a leader in and through the arts.

Mission

To celebrate and expand the arts by creating and maintaining sustainable platforms, and investing optimally in creating and managing unique content, with relevant projects that add value to our communities.

Values

Excellence: We invest in excellent creativity and strive towards excellence.

Integrity: We value the trust of our audiences and role players and are committed to fostering transparency, respect and accountability.

Accessibility: We promote access to the arts, especially in Afrikaans, among diverse artists and audiences.

Leadership: We lead by example in all our relevant communities.

Staff

Hugo Theart
Artistic Director
hugo@kunste.org.za

Lizané Basson
General Manager
lizane@kunste.org.za

Daleen Witbooi
Information Coordinator
info@kunste.org.za

Shael Laminie
Financial Coordinator
shael@kunste.org.za

Colleen Swartz
Financial Assistant
colleen@kunste.org.za

Daventia Kennedy
Administrative Assistant
daventia@kunste.org.za

Shandré Harris
Administrative Assistant
shandre@kunste.org.za

Nageline Baartman
Administrative Assistant
nageline@kunste.org.za

Adrian Patrick
Administrative Assistant
adrian@kunste.org.za

Hendrick Hendricks
Handyman

Operational Partner:
Dryland Event Management

Bernard le Roux
bernard@dryland.co.za

Henco Rademeyer
henco@dryland.co.za

Francisca Deck
francisca@dryland.co.za

Board of Directors
Chrispin Sonn

Non-executive Chair

Ismail Mahomed


Non-executive

Denver Moses

Non-executive: Chair of the Human Resource Committee

Johannes van Niekerk

Non-executive: Chair of the Finance and Risk Committee

Chris Macpherson

Non-executive

Olga Wyngaard

Non-executive

Hugo Theart

Artistic Director