Welcome to


'n KKNK-projek

Supported by NATi and the Baxter Theatre Centre

The fifth Teksmark will take place from 28 to 30 October 2020 at the Baxter Theatre Centre in Cape Town. 

In 2018 Teksmark was honoured with a Fleur du Cap Special Award for Innovation in Theatre.

Relive the 2020 Teksmark

Session 1

Session 2

Session 3

Session 4

Session 5

What is Teksmark and who can participate? 

The aim of the Teksmark is to develop new South African scripts and provide an opportunity for playwrights to introduce their ideas and scripts to interested parties in the theatre industry for possible further development. All playwrights (whether established or upcoming) can participate.

Proposals are presented as play readings at the Teksmark over three days in Cape Town. Representatives from theatres and festivals, producers and other possible investors are invited to the Teksmark from 28 to 30 October 2020.

During the Teksmark playwrights have the opportunity to discuss their script ideas. The market is open for any of the interested parties to negotiate with the playwrights about the possible investment in and further development of scripts.

Due to the limited timeslots available, the panel selects a certain number of scripts. Directors and actors are contracted in conjunction with the playwright to perform the extracts.

Noteworthy successes since the first Teksmark

Ten theatre scripts have been staged professionally.

Four scripts are in development and will premiere in 2021.

Two playwrights have received awards for their scripts: Marina Albertyn for Melk & Vleis (Aardklop prize for best newcomer and the kykNET Fiësta prize for best new script) and Bauke Snyman for Swerfgoed (KKNK Kanna award for best new script; and

Four writers received nominations for their scripts: Amee Lekas for Die dans van die watermeid (Fleur du Cap award for best indigenous Script), Du Toit Albertze for Die meermin-kompleks (KKNK Kanna award for best new script), Bauke Snyman for Swerfgoed (Fleur du Cap award for best indigenous script) and Herschelle Benjamin for In Slawenhuis 39 (KykNET Fiësta award for best new script).

Teksmark 2019