Petite Symphonie – Charles Gounod (1818-1893) 

  1. Adagio – Allegro
  2. Andante cantabile (quasi adagio) attacca
  3. Scherzo: Allegro moderato
  4. Finale: Allegretto

This ‘little symphony’ in B-flat for Wind Nonet was premiered in Gounod’s hometown of Paris, in 1885, at the Salle Pleyel. Gounod studied at the Paris Conservatoire and won the prestigious Prix de Rome when he was 21. He went on to compose sacred works including a mass, as well as the opera Faust and several orchestral works. Petite Symphonie, only published in 1904, well after his death, has four movements alive with melody, including the second movement which could be seen as an aria for flute. 

It is a symphony of sorts, straddling the boundary of large-ensemble chamber music and wind symphony. Gounod wrote it at the instigation of his friend, Paul Taffanel, who is widely viewed as the founder of the modern French school of flute playing.

Gabriele von Dürckheim (flute), Lisa White (oboe 1), Caren Bam (oboe 2), Daniel Prozesky (clarinet 1), Annelize de Villiers (clarinet 2), Brandon Phillips (bassoon 1), Simon Ball (bassoon 2), Caroline Prozesky (horn 1) and Conrad van der Westhuizen (horn 2)

buy ticket
Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from Youtube
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google